Code Building

About The Director Of Code Enforcement Tomora Nelson -

As a Property Maintenance Inspector I received 18 different certificates for training in my job as well as different areas of the city.  I took pride in what I did as a Property Maintenance Inspector and have taken steps to further my knowledge in developing my skills.  During this time I have developed a bond with the landlords.  This has become helpful in accomplishing our goal to make the City of Kankakee a better place for everyone to live.

I also enjoy working with the public. Over the years I have volunteered for many different events, Tosha’s Tiny Tots, Tiny Tots 2, Merchant Street Music Festival, Back to school Bash, Kankakee School District, Jaycees Little League and Colts Football are a few. I was the concessions stand manager for Jaycees Little League for 2 years. I have lived in the City of Kankakee all my life.


Contact Us

Tomora Nelson - Director of Code Enforcement

Official Code Enforcement Department
E-mail: dircen@citykankakee-il.gov

Address: 295 N Harrison Ave. Kankakee, IL 60901

Phone: 815-936-7390

Fax: 815-936-7314

Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Closed Saturday & Sunday

For Building & Code Enforcement, Building Codes and Permit questions and information, Call 815-936-7390.

Building Secretary 
Laura Onwiler  815-936-7324
ljonwiler@citykankakee-il.gov 

Building Inspector  
Phillip Leppert  815-936-7393 
pjleppert@citykankakee-il.gov 

Joshua McElroy  815-936-7395 
jwmcelroy@citykankakee-il.gov

Plumbing Inspector 
Clyde Tilley   815-468-6260 

Electrical Inspector 
Scheduling   815-937-2940x2 

Property Maintenance Secretary 
Sherry Dickens  815-936-7394
smwilliams@citykankakee-il.gov 

Property Maintenance Inspectors 
1st Ward
Kenyatta Hill  815-936-8210
klhill@citykankakee-il.gov

2nd Ward
Susana Ayala  815-936-7324 
s_ayala@citykankakee-il.gov

3rd & 4th Ward
Kate Bennett  815-936-7327 
knbennett@citykankakee-il.gov

5th Ward
Carolyn Mitchell  815-936-7392 
c_mitchell@citykankakee-il.gov

6th Ward
Ricardo Marin  815-936-7391 
ramarin@citykankakee-il.gov

7th Ward
Tanisha Driver  815-936-7316 
trdriver@citykankakee-il.gov

Trash Removal 
Allied Waste  815-472-3332 

Brush Removal/Road Kill  
Department of Public Works 815-933-0472